Happy Anniversary, or perhaps more appropriately, This Was A Triumph

Doesn’t seem that long ago that I started this project.  I suppose it isn’t in the grand scheme of things, but on August 15, 2007, The Chaos Fold was born.  By some minor miracle I’ve managed to accrue 103 published posts, and while I’ve dropped off the blogosphere a couple of times, I’ve more or less stuck with it.

I’ve turned 21, I can legally drink.  That may or may not improve the quality of my bullshit here.  Some fun self-indulgent blag facts.

My top post of all time is “Thinking with Portals”, written shortly after I’d first played through the now ubiquitous game and internet-meme factory.  It was a quick one-off post about how Portal mechanics could make other games better and still make sense.  I thought it was interesting, but it has since accrued 1,104 reads.

I’m somewhat less proud of the others in the 100+ crowd, the second and third places going to posts with the “Dick Jokes” tag, proving once more that is an ever-fertile ground.  Interestingly, I get more hits to Thinking with Portals from Google than anywhere else.

My recent Pettrout posts are also in the 100+ club, apparently people are as confused as I was about them, and a lot of them have started coming here for the answer to the mystery.  Traffic has surged lately due to this.

The all-time record-holder for page referrals is the WordPress tag for “Cocksucking” which I am not proud of, but I thought that was a pretty funny post so I’ll take it and leave it.  In something that amuses me to no end, the rapidly-rising second place for most referrals goes to Ragamuffin Soul, home to a “Musician, Blogger, and Pastor” from Atlanta, Georgia.  Seeing as we’re in the grips of the first of many Epic Legends, the Atlanta Saga, and that I’m a staunch (though tolerant) atheist, it amuses me that this, admittedly rather interesting pastor is second to “Cocksucking” on the all-time greatest referrers list.  A few more hits and he’ll surpass that.  Personally, I’m pulling for him on this one.  I’ve read his blog and he seems to do what few Christians do these days, that is to say a lot of good.

As for search engines, the undisputed #1 champion is “portal gun” which has brought me a grand total of 367 views.  Other luminaries of the top ten include “portal glados”, “thinking with portals”, “glados portal” and of course “now you’re thinking with portals”.

My humble blog has been viewed a total of 4,598 times.  The all-time daily record was set one week ago today, when my Too Human editorial and the PetTrout pages brought in 112 unique views.

When I started, I never expected to get more than a couple dozen hits a week, and honestly expected to give up not more than a couple months into the whole thing.  Various catalysms, events, and medically-induced bouts of writers block have kept me from doing as much as I’ve wanted to do, but I’ve surpassed my own expectations.

Most of all, while I could have become the Portal Blog or the Dick Jokes blog and drowned in traffic, I’ve done my own thing and done it pretty well.

The conclusion and Epilogue of the Atlanta Saga should go up later today, and though I haven’t yet decided on the next story in the series, I’m nearing a decision, and that one should follow hot on the heels of Atlanta.

So to everyone who’s dropped by my corner of the blagoblags, thank you for your time, thank you for your feedback, and most of all, thanks to one Karen Chu, a great friend and semi-mentor, for inspiring me to go all copycat after she started her second blog and make a new one for myself.

Love, Luck, and Lollipops,

Andrew “MagicSwordKing” Zimmer

Late breaking edit: In an odd turn of events, this post has recieved over 150 hits since it went up and my all-time one-day record has doubled, with no signs of slowing.  Also, Los has overtaken Cocksucking as the #1 referrer to The Chaos Fold.  I believe this officially ushers in a new age of peace and love across the world.  Uncanny!

Latest breaking edit: While I love all the new readers, there was something of a change-up in the works for the site.  So it’s moved!  Because of the tremendous influx of readers I’ll be cross-posting everything to both blogs for a while, but The Chaos Fold has a new home!  http://thechaosfold.com!  Update your bookmarks and feeds!

23 Comments

  1. I would also like to surpass the cock sucking google referral. Alas I think it would be as funny as you.
    Let me know when I beat it, no pun intended, and I’ll celebrate with you.
    Thanks for clearing up the trout thing as well.
    Los

  2. incredible.

  3. To everyone who’s visiting this page right now, I want to first off say thanks, my all-time traffic record has tripled with no signs of slowing, and Los has indeed taken the crown of #1 all-time referrer.

    I’d urge you all to stick around, read some of my work, and keep supporting Los, who seems to be the man behind all this traffic, as he’s the real deal and that’s something rare enough in this country and this world.

    In regards to my colorful language which might put some off, I’ll just say, I don’t believe in bad language, I believe in bad ideas, bad thoughts, bad intentions, but not bad language. Anything else is disingenuous, for me that is. I may be an atheist but I’m proof that we’re not all fire-breathing pundits. Real Christians, Muslims, Jews, men and women of every faith are out there every day using what they believe to help and better humanity.

  4. Well said Zimmer. Well said.

  5. […] This has been all over my tweets today but if you don’t twitter, meet my new friend MagicSwordKing. […]

  6. Andrew, don’t be surprised if Los brings some interesting new friends and dialog your way. You’re right on about faith and belief making a better humanity. I’m a Christian pastor as well, but that doesn’t make me approach every conversation like I’m on a battle line, ready to shoot down those that don’t believe the things that I do. I could say that I tolerate atheists, but tolerance is so lame compared to love. I’ve found extremism in all faiths and love is what they typically lack.

    Congrats on your anniversary!

  7. awesome :)

  8. Thanks for the warm welcome! I look forward to reading your blog archives, and from what I’ve read so far…I like your honesty.

  9. Hi Andrew, I guess I’m one of the hits from Ragamuffin Soul traffic. Nice to meet ya!

    John.

  10. IIn reading my blog, keep in mind two things, one, I am a nerd of epic proportions, and two, almost everything is written with a comedic bent, tongue firmly planted in cheek, unless obviously not. There are some very honest and earnest posts here. There’s a lot of video game stuff, as I’m a video game writer by (semi) trade. Perhaps the best place to start would be with the Atlanta Story, in three parts, you can find them all on the front page, or by clicking on the tab up top labeled “The Epic Legends”.

    Its a true story from my past that I’ve told before many groups of people, and I’m rather proud of how it turned out in writing. Once again, thanks to Los and everyone who’s checking out my little corner of the internet. Given the times and the timing its quite amazing.

  11. Hey Andrew … another piece of traffic from the Ragamuffin site. Look forward to reading more of your stuff.

  12. […] Happy Anniversary, or perhaps more appropriately, This Was A Triumph Doesn’t seem that long ago that I started this project.  I suppose it isn’t in the grand scheme of things, […] […]

  13. Haha, I’m loving the blog already. Love the fact that you have that comedic tone majority of the time and am thankful you cleared that up. I know how it goes when someone takes you the wrong way. I’m example number one, especially when I’m on twitter.

    Anyhow man, your first comment was radically said and very cool. I would say my favorite stuff is this:

    “regards to my colorful language which might put some off, I’ll just say, I don’t believe in bad language, I believe in bad ideas, bad thoughts, bad intentions, but not bad language.”

    Can I say as a christian, I almost 99% of the way agree to all that.

    Okay, I’m done. Later bro.

  14. haha. is it… magic sword king? or magics word king…?

  15. Hi. I was sent here from Los as well…thought I’d introduce myself.

    Nice to meet you and looking forward to reading your blog!

  16. Where am I?

    *wanders off*

  17. also a pastor in Atlanta and a high school friend of Los. nice writing. very rhythmic and savvy. i’ll be back.

    shalom,
    DEREK

  18. Hey Andrew, love the blog. Came in through the Los door, so to speak.
    Adding you to me RSS reader so I’ll be back…

    Bubba

  19. We live in an odd world don’t we? Los, I’m glad that you surpassed “University of South Carolina Mascot – Lollipop Lover” word today. Andrew, I’m glad to have met you. Not all of us pastor types (even more conservative ones) live up the stereotype our bretheren in high places make for us. I’m glad for people like you and Los, both tolerant and respectful, who can discuss meaningful things in civilized ways.

    My blog is http://www.redemptivetobacco.net. Planting a new church in Durham over the next few years.

    Peace.
    Mike

  20. […] word as a number one referral to other sites.  Check out the article that references that here.  Good job Los! […]

  21. Hey Andrew,

    Just bouncing in from the UK via Los’ blog.

    Peace

    J

  22. hey man, cool blog. found you through Los. later!

  23. […] paste from larger blogs but I honestly am not trying to do that.  There is just one sentence that this atheist guy wrote about this Christian guy. …he seems to do what few Christians do these days, that is to […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

A penny for your thoughts? (There is no penny.)

