The Pile Grows Ever Greater

I’ve been trying to play through more of my video games in the past week or so.  My Pile of Shame as of right now is fairly significant, though I’ve made some progress in diminishing it.

First off, everyone who owns an Xbox 360 with an ideal or near-ideal setup (ideal being HDTV and 5.1, near ideal being at least one of those) needs to buy Rez HD right now.  Rez, a game perhaps best known for an odd japanese peripheral called the Trance Vibrator, and the infamous article written thereafter by the esteemed Jane Pinckard, the specifics of which are hallowed in internet lore.

The game is the sort of thing you can imagine Hunter S. Thompson appreciating, a pure trip into digital psychedelia.  It even has the aptly-named “Traveling” mode for people who are stoned, smashed, whacked, and straight fucked up out of their minds.  The game can be completed rather quickly, all things considered, but it isn’t a game that one plays to complete.  This is a game that one plays to experience.  An all around masterpiece, go buy it.

Also, I’ve cut my way through Oblivion’s Shivering Isles expansion.  All in all a worthy addition to the game.  I’ve almost completed Assassin’s Creed (how can you review it without completing it, you ask?  When a game’s combat system is as clumsy as a freshman’s first lay, I think I can pass judgement without facing the anticlimactic Zerg rush at the end.) which is somewhat fulfilling, at least.

Hit the jump for my current pile of shame.

So far I’ve not completed:

  • Ace Combat 6
  • Assassin’s Creed
  • Lost Planet
  • Final Fantasy 12 (Sort of, I beat it when it was called KOTOR and didn’t star girlie men.)
  • GRAW 2
  • Ninja Gaiden Sigma
  • Resistance (First PS3 game I bought and I still haven’t beaten it.  Bioshock waylaid me mid-August, I bought it in July.)
  • Uncharted (close on this one, too)

That’s not even counting the PSP games I own, most of which cannot really be “beaten” except by manic psychotics with six fingers.  All in all, not too bad for me, though.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

A penny for your thoughts? (There is no penny.)

