Tears in the rain.

Blade Runner is the greatest film ever.

An unpopular statement, to be sure, there are so many more brilliant films, Metropolis, Citizen Kane, 2001. For sheer visual artistry, I cannot find one that matches Blade Runner, a film so stunningly ahead of its time that few could dream of matching it before 2017, the date in which it is set.

Just ten years away, in fact.

The film is twenty-five years old.

Sure there are better stories, and better performances to be had, but no film as deep, and vital, from its music, to lighting, and cinematography. Perhaps no words are fit to praise Rutger Hauer’s climactic monologue, a delivery that even Philip K. Dick himself would never have dreamed of.

The raw emotion wrenched from Roy Batty’s very last words, pure poetry.

A couple quotes after the jump.

Blade Runner: 1982

“I’ve seen things you people wouldn’t believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched C-Beams glitter in the dark near the Tanhauser Gate. All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in the rain. Time to die.”

A Scanner Darkly: 2004

“I’m supposed to act like they aren’t here. Assuming there’s a “they” at all. It may just be my imagination. Whatever it is that’s watching, it’s not human, unlike little dark eyed Donna. It doesn’t ever blink. What does a scanner see? Into the head? Down into the heart? Does it see into me, into us? Clearly or darkly? I hope it sees clearly, because I can’t any longer see into myself. I see only murk. I hope for everyone’s sake the scanners do better. Because if the scanner sees only darkly, the way I do, then I’m cursed and cursed again. I’ll only wind up dead this way, knowing very little, and getting that little fragment wrong too.”

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

A penny for your thoughts? (There is no penny.)

