The 15 Games I Couldn’t Live Without

(Response to Milky’s blog Here)

In no particular order…

1. Deus Ex – PC. Remains the most mind-blowing game I’ve ever played. I’ve beaten the entire game a good seven times, by now.

2. Starcraft/Brood War – PC. Self-explanatory. Second game I ever played. Needless to say, it was all downhill from there.

3. Rez – PS2. More than a game, it’s a damn hallucination programmed onto a little blue disc. The music, visuals, and force-feedback took an otherwise alright game into an experience that still hasn’t been matched, in my mind.

4. Civilization IV – PC. Single-player chess. I could go a lifetime without mastering it.

5. Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic – Xbox. The only game I’ve played through as much as Deus Ex.

6. Harvest Moon 64 – Nintendo 64. Farming has never been this fun. And the choices… do I actually plant crops or do I try and marry Karen before she moves away?

7. Shadow of the Colossus – PS2. I never played ICO, I know, shame on me, but this game is beautiful.

8. Unreal Tournament 2004 – PC. For me, the peak of Deathmatch games. The bot AI is still pretty wicked.

9. Team Fortress Classic – PC. As far as team-based first person shooters go, I never really got into one other than this. I memorized Dustbowl inside and out, and played for a good three hours a night, back in the day.

10. Grim Fandango – PC. Manny Calavera? Hells yes.

11. Morrowind – PC. Better than the sequel, if only for it’s incredibly deep gameplay.

12. Homeworld 2 – PC. For sheer depth of strategy, I don’t think it can be beat, even today.

13. Freelancer – PC. Diablo in space with pretty graphics, oh, and extensive modability. Not a bad single-player campaign either.

14. Soul Calibur – Dreamcast. The Dreamcast holds a special place in my heart, even though it came after I had developed a love of PC games and certain N64 games, it was amazing. Soul Calibur 1 is tops in my book for fighters.

15. The Legend of Zelda – Twilight Princess – Wii. I’ve played a lot of games in recent months, but none has left such an impact as this. I know people go back and forth on this, but I prefer it to Ocarina of Time. One of the only recent games to really grab hold of me with the epic feel, right through to the climactic fight and the heartbreaking denouement.

So that’s it. Anyone else want to list some stuff off?

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

A penny for your thoughts? (There is no penny.)

